Why I hate On-Call shifts.

So I’ve recently started a new job in retail, and while the difference between my old job and my new job is pretty big (mainly because I actually like what I’m doing now), there is one thing that I do NOT like. Those are called On-Call shifts.

For those who don’t know, On-Call shifts are when you have to call an hour before a scheduled shift to see if they need you or not. So you have a scheduled shift but you may not end up working it. What this does, is it totally ruins your day. It is insanely difficult to plan around an On-Call shift, because you don’t know if your work is going to need you or not.

If they do need you, it’s alright, it feels kind of disappointing when you can’t do what you wanted to do, but you were kind of expecting to work anyway, so it’s not that big of a loss.

If they don’t need you, that sucks if you spent your day just waiting to call, wondering if you have work and not wanting to make plans because you have to go in. Then you find out they don’t need you and you’re kind of like “Huh, well there went my day, waiting and then not going to work.” It’s not a fun feeling.

Obviously waiting around like that isn’t ideal, but when you don’t have a car, you can’t go far in the city that would take too long to get to work if they needed you, and that sucks.

Either way, it’s not a great feeling to have to wonder if you’re going to work that day, which is what I’m doing right now and why I wrote this while I waited. So, Maybe I’ll be going to work after this, maybe I won’t be. I guess I’ll find out soon.

Leave a Reply

